Congratulations to IFIP’s newest Fellows, who were announced during the final IFIP Jubilee event on 21 December 2021.

IFIP Vice President and Chair of Fellows Selection Committee, Jan Gulliksen, made the announcements, recognising each for their outstanding technical contributions to the field of information processing.

The new Fellows include:

  • Jean Vanderdonckt, Belgium, for fundamental and applied contributions to model-based user interface development, model-driven engineering of interactive applications and user interface description languages;
  • Ling X Li, USA, for her active involvement in IFIP WG8.9, where her leadership led to high quality research, conferences and journal publications, which contributed significantly to educating ICT professionals; 
  • Gerrit van der Veer, Netherlands, for his pioneering work in HCI, developing and teaching new paradigms for the human side of HCI and in promoting international collaboration between HCI scientists and practitioners; 
  • Andreas Holzinger, Austria, for his achievements in interactive machine learning with the human-in-the-loop, towards xAI and multimodal causability, advocating a synergistic approach to put the human-in-control of AI;
  • Guy Pujolle, France, for his remarkable pioneering contribution to the development of computer networks, their evolution, their applications, security and to the teaching of the domain;
  • Jacques Sakarovitch, France, for his extraordinary contribution to the methodological research and teaching of theoretical computer science, particularly, automata theory, and for his work in cofounding TC1;
  • Fredi Tröltzsch, Germany, for his outstanding contribution to the theory of optimisation, computations of optimal control for distributed parameter systems with applications to industry, engineering and medical sciences;  
  • Jan Pries-Heje, Denmark, for his extensive work in leading research and teaching in the field of information systems, for which he has built a global reputation. Within TC8, his leadership promoted the joint definition of action strategies and nurtured the cohesion of the working groups;
  • Paola Inverardi, Italy, for her significant contributions to software engineering and architecture and for her role as educator and rector of the University of L’Aquila, which she helped to reconstruct after an earthquake;
  • Sushil Jajodia, USA, for his unparalleled technical contributions to cybersecurity with over 500 papers and over 50,000 citations, resulting in seminal papers, patents and a commercial system;
  • Ricardo Augusto Da Luz Reis, Brazil, for his leadership in the field of microelectronics education in Latin America, his research in applied VLSI-SoC design methods and his contribution to building the open scientific community;
  • Pierangela Samarati, Italy, for pioneering and outstanding contributions to research and information sharing in information security, data protection and privacy.