The Computer Society of Sri Lanka (CSSL) has become the first ICT professional body in South Asia to achieve accreditation to IFIP’s International Professional Practice Partnership (IP3).  

IP3 Chair Moira de Roche speaking during the ceremony

IP3 Chair, Moira de Roche, presented the IP3 Accreditation certificate to CSSL in a virtual ceremony on 11th January 2023 in the presence of eminent IP3 and CSSL board members.

IP3 Accreditation is a key milestone of CSSL’s journey since its inception in 1976 and represents an important achievement in its endeavour to raise professional standards after the society became a provisional signatory to the Seoul Accord in 2018, the global accreditation body for Computing Degrees.

CSSL President, Damith Hettihewa, said IP3 Accreditation was a key priority of CSSL’s 2021/2022 program and recognises its commitment to fostering greater professionalism amongst Sir Lankan ICT practitioners. 

“With this accreditation, the recognition for Sri Lankan IT professionals is boosted significantly across global markets. I am grateful to the CSSL team which worked tirelessly to achieve the rigorous IP3 compliance within the target timelines. We are also grateful for guidance received from the IFIP and IP3 community to help us reach this historic milestone,” he said.

IFIP President, Anthony Wong congratulated CSSL on becoming the first country in South Asia to have its ICT professional certification scheme accredited by IP3.  “We are proud of the hard work and dedication of CSSL and its members that have made this possible,” he said.

Ms de Roche said the IP3 Board was unanimous in approving CSSL’s full accreditation of its Professional Member (MCSSL) and Associate Member (AMCSSL) schemes for a five-year period from 5 December 2022. 

“I am pleased and very proud of CSSL for this achievement, and applaud the people involved for their single-mindedness in preparing for this over a relatively short period. On behalf of the IP3 board, I congratulate CSSL on this accomplishment,” she said.

IP3 Chair Moira De Roche (top), CSSL President Damith Hettihewa, Vice President Dr Ajantha Atukorale and Secretary Dr Parakum Pathirana at the Virtual Certificate Handover Ceremony