The fifth Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF) will provide an informal venue for 200 selected young researchers to exchange ideas with renowned laureates in mathematics and computer science. Recipients of the ACM A.M. Turing Award, the ACM Prize in Computing, the Abel Prize, the Fields Medal and the Nevanlinna Prize will inspire the researchers in a week-long program of lectures, workshops, and social events. The HLF raises awareness of innovation and achievements in mathematics and computing, and of the contributions of the individuals who have received these awards, among their peers, future generations of mathematicians and computing professionals, and the broader public.

Turing Laureates participating in this year’s HLF are Manuel Blum, Frederick Brooks, Vint Cerf, Stephen  A. Cook, Whitfield Diffie, Martin Hellman, Sir C. Antony R. Hoare, John E. Hopcroft, William M. Kahan, Leslie Lamport, Barbara Liskov, Joseph Sifakis, Richard E. Stearns, Ivan Sutherland, Robert E. Tarjan, and Leslie G. Valiant. Participating ACM Prize recipients are Alexei Efros and Jeffrey A. Dean.

The HLF, founded by the Klaus Tschira Foundation and the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies, is organized by the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation and is supported by the Association for Computing Machinery (Turing Award), the International Mathematical Union (Fields Medal, Nevanlinna Prize), and the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (Abel Prize).