Computer History Museum Honors Tech Legend Raj Reddy

Raj Reddy

ACM A.M. Turing Award recipient Raj Reddy of Carnegie Mellon University is one of the Computer History Museum’s 2021 Fellow Award honorees.

Reddy is the Moza Bint Nasser University Professor of Computer Science and Robotics at Carnegie Mellon University. The Computer History Museum’s Fellow Awards recognize extraordinary individuals for a lifetime of achievement in computing and technology.

A visionary in artificial intelligence and robotics, Reddy has focused his career on how technology can serve society, particularly in education and in developing societies.

Read the Carnegie-Mellon news release.





CCF Honors ACM CEO Vicki Hanson with Honorary Membership 

 The China Computer Federation has bestowed honorary membership on ACM’s CEO Vicki Hanson. The CCF Honorary Membership is awarded to people who are not CCF members but made great contributions to CCF, or to collaborations between CCF and other organizations.

During the past 10 years of ACM’s collaboration with CCF, Hanson made great efforts to strengthen their relationship, including inviting Turing Award laureates to speak at CCF events; helping to grow ACM membership in China; and, most recently, establishing a joint award for AI.

Featured ACM Distinguished Speaker: Aaron Quigley

 Aaron Quigley is the Head of School for University of New South Wales’s School of Computer Science and Engineering in Sydney, Australia, and a general Co-chair for the virtual 2021 ACM CHI Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems.

His research interests include discreet computing, global HCI, pervasive and ubiquitous computing and information. From 2016-2017 Aaron was a convenor of the ACM Future of Computing Academy. In total Aaron has had chairing roles in 30 international conferences and has served on more than 90 conference and workshop program committees.