ACM has recognized three individuals with awards for their exemplary service to the computing field. Working in diverse areas, the 2019 award recipients were selected by their peers for longstanding efforts that have strengthened the community. This year’s ACM award recipients made seminal contributions in areas including textbooks and educational tools, bibliographic resources, and advancing the computing community in India.

Mordechai Ben-Ari

Mordechai Ben-Ari is the recipient of the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for his pioneering textbooks, software tools and research on learning concurrent programming, program visualization, logic, and programming languages, spanning four decades and aimed at both novices and advanced students in several subfields of computing.





Michael Ley

Michael Ley is the recipient of the ACM Distinguished Service Award for creating, developing, and curating DBLP, an extraordinarily useful and influential online bibliographic resource that has changed the way computer scientists work.  





Arati M. Dixit

Arati M. Dixit

Arati M. Dixit is the recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award for contributing to the growth and diversity of ACM programs in India, especially ACM-W India.

Read more about the 2019 ACM service awards.





Upcoming Online Conferences

Most of ACM’s upcoming conferences have moved online due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

ISCA 2020, 30 May-3 June

The International Symposium on Computer Architecture is the premier forum for new ideas and research results in computer architecture. Workshops will cover such topics as architecture research, machine learning and quantum resource estimation. Margaret Martonosi (Princeton University), Valeria Bertacco (University of Michigan), and Li-Shiuan Peh (National University of Singapore) will keynote.





MMSys 2020, 8-11 June

The ACM Multimedia Systems Conference provides a forum for researchers to present and share their latest research findings in multimedia systems. Keynotes will be delivered by Ryan Overbeck (Google), Lifeng Sun (Tsinghua University), Roderick Hodgson (Amber Video), Mohammad Alizadeh (MIT), Yao Want (New York University), and Eric Klein (Disney Streaming Services).





ITiCSE 2020, 15-19 June

The International Conference on Innovation and Technology in Computer Science Education will cover all aspects of educating the next generation of computer scientists, including curricula; leveraging data and analytics to improve learning; broadening participation and diversity; social and global challenges in computing education. Judy Sheard (Monash Museum of Computing History), “Simon” (University of Newcastle) and Matti Tedre (University of Eastern Finland and Stockholm University) will keynote.