ACM has announced the recipients of three prestigious technical awards for 2019. These leaders were selected by their peers for making contributions that extend the boundaries of research, advance industry, and lay the foundation for technologies that transform society. 

Paul Mockapetris

Paul Mockapetris is the recipient of the ACM Software System Award for development of the Domain Name System (DNS), which provides the worldwide distributed directory service that is an essential component of the functionality of the global internet.





Noga Alon, Phillip Gibbons, Yossi Matias and Mario Szegedy are recipients of the ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award for seminal work on the foundations of streaming algorithms and their application to large-scale data analytics.





 Lydia E. Kavraki and Daphne Koller are the recipients of the ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award. Kavraki is recognized for pioneering contributions to robotic motion planning, including the invention of randomized motion planning algorithms and probabilistic roadmaps, with applications to bioinformatics and biomedicine. Koller is recognized for seminal contributions to machine learning and probabilistic models, the application of these techniques to biology and human health, and for contributions to democratizing education.

Read more about the 2019 ACM technical awards.