The Computer Society of Sri Lanka (CSSL) has been inducted as a Provisional Member of the Seoul Accord at its recent meeting in Cambridge, UK.

CSSL President, Yasas Abeywickrama called the recognition an historic moment for CSSL, IT higher education and Sri Lanka at large.

“Through the hard work of many individuals in laying the foundation for degree accreditation over the past few years, we have now been inducted into the global standard of computing degree accreditation. This opens a new chapter in seeing CSSL accredit Sri Lankan computing degrees, which will be an important phase in shaping the higher education sector in Sri Lanka in coming years.

Abeywickrama acknowledged the many academics and professionals who supported and contributed to this mammoth effort over the past three years, including:

  • Professor Gihan Dias, who has led the CSSL Accreditation Board Chair since its inception in 2017,
  • Dr Malitha Wijesundara, former CSSL President, Dr Dayan Rajapakse, who initiated the project, and
  • Prof Indra Dayawansa, who ensured all processes were documented to global standards.