Australia’s top disruptors recognised with ACS awards

Radlink Communications chief engineer Simon Chan scooped the top individual honours at the inaugural ACS Digital Disruptors Awards.

The awards, held following the ACS Reimagination 2015 conference in Sydney, recognised 50 digital disruptors from industry, government and education.

They received either Gold Disruptor awards as finalists or took out one of 13 award categories.

Each winner was selected from hundreds of entries by an independent judging panel comprising industry experts in technology, innovation, science, academia and business.

Chan – who won ICT Professional of the Year – said he was humbled to receive the accolade.

“It’s been one of those evenings when you sit there and watch everything else that’s going on,” he said in his acceptance speech.

Young ICT Professional of the Year went to Yohan De Silva, a consultant with listed IT services firm DWS, and to Emily Rich, director of Jemsoft.

The team categories were won by an impressive line-up of businesses including the Australian Taxation Office, Woolworths, Serco, CSIRO, The Australian Crime Commission and Blamey Saunders Hears.

The ATO impressed judges by being the first federal agency to deploy a mobile app on all three major app stores after undergoing a major internal cultural transformation.

The taxation office’s mobile apps team designed, built and delivered the app in less than 10 weeks with close, cohesive engagements with key stakeholders, including business partners.

“On behalf of the ACS, I’d like to congratulate all the winners and finalists who took part in the Digital Disruptors Awards,” ACS CEO Andrew Johnson said.

“Studies have shown that more than 50 percent of businesses in Australia have been affected by some form of digital disruption so it’s heartening to see that the calibre of entries were second to none.

“We hope the award recognition will spur the teams and individuals to continue to contribute and make an impact on Australia’s technology and innovation scene.”

The full list of winners can be seen in the original article*.


*This is a summarised version of the original article first published in the ACS’ Information Age on 20 Nov 2015.