ACM has recognised four individuals with awards for their exemplary service to the computing field. Working in diverse areas, the 2018 award recipients were selected by their peers for longstanding efforts that have significantly shaped the role of computing in society. This year’s ACM award recipients made seminal contributions in textbooks and online education, education in the K-12 sphere, the mobile computing community, and technologies to aid the visually impaired. The recipients will be formally honored at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 15, 2019 in San Francisco.

Robert Sedgewick is the recipient of the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for developing classic textbooks and online materials for the study of algorithms, analytic combinatorics, and introductory computer science that have educated generations of students worldwide.

Victor Bahl is the recipient of the ACM Distinguished Service Award for significant and lasting service to the broad community of mobile and wireless networking, and for building strong linkages between academia, industry, and government agencies.

Meenakshi Balakrishnan is the recipient of the Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics for research, development, and deployment of cost-effective embedded-system and software solutions addressing mobility and education challenges of the visually impaired in the developing world.

Chris Stephenson is the recipient of the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award for advancing CS education by architecting and nurturing the Computer Science Teachers Association to incorporate more than 22,000 K-12 CS educators and partners into the ACM community.

Read more.