ACM has named new Chairs for its Tech Policy Committees in the US and Europe.  Both groups operate under the umbrella of ACM’s new Technology Policy Council, an entity established to address technology issues on a global scale.


Jim Hendler has been named Chair of the ACM US Technology Policy Committee, succeeding Stuart Shapiro. Hendler is Professor of Computer, Web and Cognitive Sciences; Director, Rensselaer Institute for Data Exploration and Applications; and Director, RPI-IBM Center on Health Empowerment by Analytics, Learning and Semantics at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Oliver Grau has been named Chair of the ACM Europe Technology Policy Committee. He is Associate Director of Operations of at Intel’s Visual Computing Institute in Germany. Grau is also a member of the ACM Europe Council. 

The ACM US Technology Policy Committee (previously known as USACM) serves as the focal point for ACM’s interaction with US government organizations, the computing community, and the US public in all matters of US public policy related to information technology. The Committee addresses issues in innovation, privacy, security, digital governance, intellectual property, accessibility, and e-voting. 

The ACM Europe Technology Policy Committee (previously known as EUACM) promotes dialogue and the exchange of ideas on technology and computing policy issues with the European Commission, member states’ governmental bodies, and the informatics and computing communities.