ACM Awards recognize technical and professional achievements within the computing and information technology community. These awards span a spectrum of professional and technological accomplishments of individuals from around the world as well as the US. This year’s international award winners include:

  • Dina Katabi, a native of Damascus, Syria—ACM Prize in Computing for creative contributions to wireless systems
  • Judith Gal-Ezer, Professor Emerita at The Open University of Israel—Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for her central role in developing a groundbreaking high school computer science curriculum, education research, and service to the education community
  • Stefanie Mueller of the Hasso Plattner Institute (Germany)—Doctoral Dissertation Award Honorable Mention for “Interacting with Personal Fabrication Devices”
  • Steve Bourne (UK)—Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award for reaching out to practitioners through the development of the Practitioners Board and ACM Queue, and for his support of the ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest 
  • Andrew McGettrick, Professor Emeritus at the University of Strathclyde, Glasgow (UK)—ACM Presidential Award, for his commitment to computer science education
  • Fabrizio Gagliardi (Italy), Chair of EUACM, ACM’s European policy committee—ACM Presidential Award for ensuring the organization’s activities, services, and influence extend throughout Europe

Read about all of ACM’s award recipients at