IFIP’s immediate past president, Leon Strous, has been recognised with the Isaac Auerbach Award, IFIP’s most prestigious honour.

Established as a living memorial to IFIP’s founding President, the award is presented to an individual whose service to IFIP exemplifies the Auerbach spirit of dedication and generosity.

In addition to serving as IFIP President for six years from 2010 to 2016, Leon has led and participated in numerous committees, forums, steering groups and task forces over his 25+ years of involvement in the global professional body.

Most notably, he was Chair of Technical Committee 11 (1995-2007), Chaired the WITFOR Steering Committee (2007), the World Computer Congress Steering Committee (2012), the Membership Task Force and WG 11.5. He initiated the Domain Committee on IoT, was Publications Chair for WCCs 2004, 2006 and 2010, and held leadership roles for various other events over the years.

He continues to Chair the IFIP International Liaison Committee, the Domain Committee for the Internet of Things and is a member of the Digital Equity Committee and Technical Committee 11 (Security).

Leon is a past recipient of the IFIP Silver Core Award and also holds the Order of Orange-Nassau from his home nation in The Netherlands.