ACM Turing Award

27March, 2020

ACM Names 2019 ACM A.M. Turing Award Recipients

By |March 27th, 2020|ACM|0 Comments

ACM has named Patrick M. (Pat) Hanrahan and Edwin E. (Ed) Catmull recipients of the 2019 ACM A.M. Turing Award for fundamental contributions to 3-D computer graphics, and the revolutionary impact of these techniques on computer-generated imagery (CGI) in filmmaking and other applications.

Ed Catmull and Pat Hanrahan have fundamentally influenced the field of computer graphics […]

29June, 2018

IFIP and ACS Attend ACM Turing Awards

By |June 29th, 2018|ACM, Events|0 Comments

IFIP President Mike Hinchey and ACS President Yohan Ramasundara were in San Francisco last week to see John L. Hennessy, former President of Stanford University, and David A. Patterson, retired Professor of the University of California, Berkeley, receive the prestigious 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award. 

The pair were honoured at a gala dinner for pioneering a systematic, […]