30June, 2021

ACM Recognises Contributions by European Committee Members

By |June 30th, 2021|ACM|0 Comments

ACM has named Andrew McGettrick, a professor at the University of Strathclyde, UK, the recipient of the 2020 Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for his scholarship and tireless volunteer work and contributions, which have fundamentally improved rigorous computer science as a field of professional practice and as an academic pursuit. His work in curricula, standards […]

28April, 2021

IITPSA Announces 2020’s Leading Lights at Virtual President’s Awards Event

By |April 28th, 2021|Events|0 Comments

IITPSA Announces 2020’s Leading Lights at Virtual President’s Awards Event

The Institute of Information Technology Professionals South Africa (IITPSA) capped an unusual year and its first ever virtual President’s Awards ceremony by naming joint winners of the Visionary CIO of the Year Award this month.

Dr Stanley Mpofu, CIO of the University of the Witwatersrand, and Nomthi […]

26February, 2021

CWI Fellow Jos Baeten Receives Royal Decoration

By |February 26th, 2021|Uncategorized|0 Comments

For his extensive contributions to science, CWI Fellow and former director Jos Baeten has been awarded a Royal decoration. Baeten was appointed Officer in the order of Oranje-Nassau. The awarding took place during the 75th anniversary event of CWI (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI), the national research institute for mathematics and computer science in the […]

28May, 2020

ACM Recognizes Outstanding Service to the Field of Computing

By |May 28th, 2020|ACM, Events|0 Comments

ACM has recognized three individuals with awards for their exemplary service to the computing field. Working in diverse areas, the 2019 award recipients were selected by their peers for longstanding efforts that have strengthened the community. This year’s ACM award recipients made seminal contributions in areas including textbooks and educational tools, bibliographic resources, and advancing […]

30October, 2016

SEARCC Announces Finalists of Inaugural SEARCC International Awards

By |October 30th, 2016|Events|0 Comments

The South East Asian Regional Computer Confederation (SEARCC) has announced the finalists for the inaugural SEARCC International Awards, to be held in conjunction with the ACS Digital Disruptor Awards at ACS Reimagination Thought Leaders Summit in Sydney on December 1, 2016.

The Awards celebrate the outstanding contribution by ICT professionals internationally and recognise excellence in leadership, education and research […]

19September, 2016

SEARCC Conference 2016

By |September 19th, 2016|Events|0 Comments

The SEARCC (South East Asian Computer Confederation) Conference will be held in Sydney on 1 December 2016. It will bring together leaders from the technology industry, the wider business sector, the education and research communities and the political sphere to advance the conversation on entrepreneurialism, innovation and competitive advantage for the Asia Pacific region. The […]

23November, 2015

Australia’s top disruptors recognised with 2015 ACS awards

By |November 23rd, 2015|Events, Young ICT Professionals|0 Comments

Australia’s top disruptors recognised with ACS awards
Radlink Communications chief engineer Simon Chan scooped the top individual honours at the inaugural ACS Digital Disruptors Awards.

The awards, held following the ACS Reimagination 2015 conference in Sydney, recognised 50 digital disruptors from industry, government and education.

They received either Gold Disruptor awards as finalists or took out one of […]