IFIP Networking 2019 – the 18th event of the series, sponsored by the IFIP Technical Committee on Communication Systems (TC6), was held on the campus of Warsaw University of Technology in beautiful and exciting Warsaw – a capital of Poland from 20-22 May 2019. Over the past years, IFIP Networking conference has established itself as a prestigious international forum for researchers and practitioners to discuss recent advances in the field of computer and communication networks. 

This year, the conference included an exciting technical program with 32 papers. Technical sessions at IFIP Networking 2019 were structured around four key areas: Network Architectures, Applications and Services, Network Modeling and Analysis, Network Security and Privacy, and Wireless Networking. 

 IFIP Networking 2019 call for papers attracted 112 submissions from 26 different countries in Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America. The main technical program was the result of the rigorous review and online discussion by the Program Committee members and additional reviewers. The average number of reviews per paper were 4.4 plus a meta review summarizing the online discussion. All the papers received at-least three reviews, 42% of the papers received more than five reviews, and 22% of papers received more than six reviews. Furthermore, most papers were discussed online among the reviewers extensively. 

The IFIP Networking 2019 main technical program comprised a high-quality selection of 32 full papers, (which corresponds to an acceptance rate of 28.5%), and 15 poster papers organized into seven regular sessions. These covered topics ranging from 5G Networks, Datacenter Networks and Transport, Measurement and Modelling, Network and traffic Engineering through to Software Defined Networks and Network Function Virtualization, Security, and Wireless Networks. 

Among them, two papers were selected for Best Paper and 2nd Best Paper Award: 

Best Paper Award – Thomas Fenz, Klaus-Tycho Foerster, Stefan Schmid and Anaïs Villedieu for paper “Efficient Non-Segregated Routing for Reconfigurable Demand-Aware Networks”;

2nd Best Paper Award – Viet-Hoang Tran and Olivier Bonaventure for paper “Beyond socket options making the Linux TCP stack truly extensible”.

In addition to the technical papers, the conference was visited by three exceptional keynote speakers: Professor J.J. Garcia-Luna-Aceves, UC Santa Cruz – Xerox PARC, U.S.A.; Professor Stefan Schmid, University of Vienna, Austria; and Professor Silvia Giordano, University of Applied Science and Arts – SUPSI in Ticino, Switzerland.