Jack Dongarra to Give the ACM A.M. Turing Award Lecture at SC22

2021 ACM A.M. Turing Award recipient Jack Dongarra will be delivering his Turing Lecture at the 2022 International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage, and Analysis (SC22). Jack’s pioneering contributions to numerical algorithms and libraries have enabled high performance computing software to keep pace with exponential hardware improvements for over four decades and have accelerated high performance computing through many years. The lecture will be at 9 am CST (2 pm UTC) on Tuesday, November 15, and can be viewed via livestream. 

You can read more about the A.M. Turing award and watch the video interview with Dongarra about his career shown at this year’s ACM Awards Banquet.

2022 ACM-IEEE CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships 

ACM and the IEEE Computer Society have awarded Marcin Copik of ETH Zurich and Masado Alexander Ishii of the University of Utah with 2022 ACM-IEEE CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships. Shelby Lockhart of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign received an Honorable Mention. Copik is recognised for incorporating the Function-as-a-Service programming model into HPC applications and bringing high-performance into serverless to cut costs and increase efficiency of supercomputing. Ishii is recognised for developing lightweight, dimension-parameterised, parallel meshing algorithms with a focus on scalability and improving total time-to-solution for engineering applications. Lockhart is recognised for contributions in scalable iterative solvers using node-aware communication and low synchronisation algorithms to reduce communication bottlenecks on supercomputers.

Read the news release here.

ACM-W Rising Star Award 

The ACM-W Rising Star Award recognises a woman whose early-career research has had a significant impact on the computing discipline, as measured by factors such as frequent citation of their work, creation of a new research area, a high degree of technology transfer, and/or other positive influences and societal impact. The award is given annually, and the recipient receives a framed certificate and a $1,000 stipend. Nominations will close on November 30, 2022. One award recipient will be selected by January 31, 2023.

For more information and to put forth a nomination, review the award nomination form.

Celebrating Technology Leaders 

Episode 11: Resilience and Overcoming Adversity—The CTO Journey

The office of CTO oversees everything from technology vision and strategy to architecture, innovation, development and infrastructure. In this episode of “ACM-W Celebrating Technology Leaders,” women C-suite technology leaders share their stories of grit and resilience. What were some of the unique challenges they faced as a woman in an IT leadership role? Did they architect their careers or were they vigilant to take advantage of opportunities? How do they deal with difficult situations, people, and emotions on an ongoing basis? Join host Bushra Anjum and panelists Rebecca Parsons (Thoughtworks), Janice Zdankus (HP), Saima Mushtaq (Wyngs), and Rama Akkiraju (IBM) at 12 pm PT (7 pm UTC), October 26, as they discover nuggets of wisdom and derive inspiration from these stories.

Register for the webinar here.

Featured ACM Member: Manish Raghavan

Manish Raghavan is an Assistant Professor at the MIT Sloan School of Management. Prior to his current position, he was a postdoctoral fellow at the Harvard Center for Research on Computation and Society (CRCS). Raghavan received the 2021 ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award for his dissertation “The Societal Impacts of Algorithmic Decision-Making.” In his interview, Raghavan discusses his unique role at MIT, de-biasing techniques and the challenges they may cause for antidiscrimination law, and how algorithms shape the online experience across platforms.

Read Raghavan’s interview here.

Featured ACM Member: Volker Markl

Volker Markl is a Professor of Computer Science, Chair of the Database Management and Information Systems (DIMA) Group, and Director of the Berlin Institute for the Foundations of Learning and Data (BIFOLD) at the Technische Universität (TU) Berlin. He was named an ACM Fellow in 2020 for his contributions to query optimisation, scalable data processing and data programmability. In his interview, Markl discusses data management and AI, the NebulaStream program, his work and receiving the Humboldt Innovation Award, and his role as an advisor to the German Government and the European Union.

Read Markl’s interview here.

ACM ByteCast: Steve Nouri

ACM ByteCast is ACM’s series of podcast interviews with researchers, practitioners, and innovators who are at the intersection of computing research and practice. In the latest episode, host Rashmi Mohan interviews Steve Nouri, Founder of AI4Diversity, Founding Member of Hackmakers and Chief AI Evangelist at Wand. With more than one million followers on LinkedIn, he is one of the most influential voices in AI and Data Science. In this podcast, the native Australian Nouri describes his journey to computing, explains the importance of building a brand online and how it can create more opportunities for computing professionals, and shares his big hopes for the non-profit AI4Diversity.

Featured ACM Distinguished Speaker: Margaret Burnett

Margaret Burnett is a Distinguished Professor at Oregon State University. She began her career in industry, where she was the first woman software developer ever hired at Procter & Gamble Ivorydale. She was the principal architect of the Forms/3 and FAR visual programming languages, co-founded the area of end-user software engineering, and pioneered the use of information foraging theory in the domain of software debugging. Burnett is an ACM Fellow, a member of the ACM CHI Academy, and an award-winning mentor. Her lecture topics include “Gender-Inclusive Software and Beyond,” and “Research Experiences for Undergraduates (for Faculty).”

Read more and browse Burnett’s lectures.