Linda Gesenhues (pictured left) of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro and Markus Höhnerbach (pictured right) of RWTH Aachen University have been named recipients of the 2018 ACM-IEEE CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowships. Gesenhues is being recognized for her work on finite element simulation of turbidity currents with an emphasis on non-Newtonian fluids. Höhnerbach is being recognized for his work on portable optimizations of complex molecular dynamics codes. The Fellowships will be formally presented at SC18 in November.

Endowed in memory of George Michael, one of the founding fathers of the SC Conference series, the ACM IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial Fellowships honour exceptional PhD students throughout the world whose research focus areas are in high performance computing, networking, storage, and large-scale data analysis. ACM, the IEEE Computer Society and the SC Conference support this award.

Fellowship winners are selected each year based on overall potential for research excellence, the degree to which technical interests align with those of the HPC community, academic progress to date, recommendations by their advisor and others, and a demonstration of current and anticipated use of HPC resources. The Fellowship includes a $5,000 honorarium, plus travel and registration to receive the award at the annual International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage, and Analysis (SC) conference.

Read the ACM news release.