The ACM Student Research Competition (SRC), sponsored by Microsoft, offers a unique forum for undergraduate and graduate students to present their original research before a panel of judges and attendees at well-known ACM-sponsored and co-sponsored conferences. There are two rounds of competition at each conference hosting an SRC, which culminates in a Grand Finals competition. All undergraduate and graduate student winners from the SRCs held during the year advance to the SRC Grand Finals, where they are evaluated by a different panel of judges via the Web. This year’s SRC Grand Finals winners are:

Graduate Category:

Undergraduate Category:

Hendler Appointed Chair of ACM Technology Policy Council

James Hendler was appointed Chair of ACM’s Technology Policy Council effective July 1. The TPC addresses global technology policy. Hendler is the Director of the Institute for Data Exploration and Applications and the Tetherless World Professor of Computer, Web and Cognitive Sciences at Rensselear Polytechnic Institute. He also heads the RPI-IBM Center for Health Empowerment by Analytics, Learning and Semantics. An ACM Fellow, Hendler served as Chair of ACM’s US Technology Policy Committee from 2018 to 2021.

Communications of the ACM Call for Abstracts: Europe Regional Special Section, April 2022

Communications of the ACM will publish the second edition of the CACM Europe Region Special Section in April 2022. It will include 10 to 15 brief articles. In addition, a subset of the submitted abstracts will be selected for an online workshop presentation to be held on August 25-26. Regional Special Sections were created to cover computing research and innovations from around the world, with roughly one such section being published every quarter. Abstracts for this Special Section are invited in the following topics: computing research; industrial impact and startups; societal impact of technology; and government and digital technology. Full information on submissions and the workshop can be found on the RSS Europe website. Abstracts are due August 5.